The APPES council is elected at the biennial meeting at the AGM and represent the society until the general meeting in 2 years time.  Council members are eligible for re-election for a 2nd term, and beyond that if they change position within the council.

The council meets face to face once a year and by telephone hookup 2-3 times per year and the executive additionally meets in between as required. Please feel free to approach these individuals at any time with ideas for the society. As a new society, we need your input and look forward to hearing from you.

APPES Secretariat

APPES now has a new Secretariat office based in Japan.  It is suggested that all correspondence is directed through the secretariat office via:

Current Council 2020 – 2022

  Name Country Position  


Lee Yung Seng Singapore President
Muhammad Yazid Jalaludin Malaysia Immediate Past President
Maria Craig Australia President Elect
Reiko Horikawa Japan Treasurer
Junfen Fu China Secretary


Yan Liang China Council
Sylvia Estrada Philippines Council
Jin-Ho Choi South Korea Council
Fauzia Mohsin Bangladesh Council
Anju Seth India Council
Mya Sander Thein Myanmar Council
Muhammad Faizi hamid Indonesia Council

Prapai Dejkhamron Thailand Council
Huynh Thi Vu Quynh Vietnam Council


Tony Huynh Australia Fellows school convenor
Noriyuki Namba Japan Scientific Program Committee Chair
Paul Hofman New Zealand Co-Opted
Jeerunda Santiprabhob Thailand Co-Opted